Summerfield Place - a single or double room (Edinburgh)

This is a characterful 'Colonies House' in Leith, Edinburgh. Leith was voted in the Top 20 'coolest' places in the UK in a recent 'Times' survey.

To let is a warm single room or a lovely double room. Both have comfortable beds, desk and light. Blinds at the windows.
Sanded wooden floors, full GCH. Next to shared bathroom (with landlady).
Full cooking facilities, TV, fridge and Wi-fi available at no extra cost.

Charming small cottage garden with seat for use in good weather.

It is 20 yards from a large parkland (Leith Links) and 10 mins walk from a very on trend waterfront area containing 2 Michelin starred restaurants and numerous coffee shops and pubs.

Festival Theatre 20 mins by bus
Kings - 35 mins by bus
Playhouse 30 mins walk
Lyceum 35 mins by bus
Usher Hall 35 mins by bus

Digs' Features

Living with Host
Use of Washing Machine
Use of Kitchen
Microwave
Central Heating
Use of Garden
Free Parking
Internet
Wireless
Towels Provided
Smokers Allowed
Rooms
single room
Prices for 1 Guest
Per Night
£22.00
Per Week
£140.00
Per Month (28 Nights)
£480.00

Shared Bathroom
Blackout Blinds

{ "lat": "55.9690474", "lng": "-3.1579606" }
[ { "id": "1691", "index": 0, "name": "Summerfield Place - a single or double room ", "url": "https://www.theatredigsbooker.com/digs/summerfield-place", "lat": "55.9690474", "lng": "-3.1579606", "icon": "/assets/map_icons/red_dig.png", "description": "This is a characterful 'Colonies House' in Leith, Edinburgh. Leith was voted in the Top 20 'coolest' places in the UK in a recent 'Times' sur" } ]
[ { "id": "194", "name": "Traverse Theatre", "lat": "55.94748", "lng": "-3.20428", "url": "/traverse-theatre", "distance": "2.3" } , { "id": "195", "name": "Royal Lyceum", "lat": "55.94699", "lng": "-3.20419", "url": "/royal-lyceum", "distance": "2.4" } , { "id": "50", "name": "Alhambra Theatre - Dunfermline", "lat": "56.0698", "lng": "-3.458", "url": "/alhambra-theatre", "distance": "13.5" } , { "id": "198", "name": "Carnegie Hall", "lat": "56.07189", "lng": "-3.4537", "url": "/carnegie-hall", "distance": "13.5" } , { "id": "199", "name": "Rothes Halls", "lat": "56.19585", "lng": "-3.1761", "url": "/rothes-halls", "distance": "15.7" } , { "id": "255", "name": "Adam Smith Theatre Kirkcaldy", "lat": "56.11172", "lng": "-3.16303", "url": "/adam-smith-theatre-kirkcaldy", "distance": "9.9" } , { "id": "291", "name": "Brunton Theatre", "lat": "55.94318", "lng": "-3.05609", "url": "/brunton-theatre", "distance": "4.3" } , { "id": "2", "name": "Edinburgh Playhouse", "lat": "55.957", "lng": "-3.185", "url": "/edinburgh-playhouse", "distance": "1.3" } , { "id": "600", "name": "Newlands Centre", "lat": "55.71882", "lng": "-3.3373", "url": "/newlands-centre", "distance": "18.7" } , { "id": "581", "name": "Lochgelly Centre", "lat": "56.1295", "lng": "-3.31036", "url": "/lochgelly-centre", "distance": "12.6" } , { "id": "535", "name": "Bathgate Regal", "lat": "55.90205", "lng": "-3.64551", "url": "/bathgate-regal", "distance": "19.4" } , { "id": "481", "name": "Usher Hall", "lat": "55.94745", "lng": "-3.20505", "url": "/usher-hall", "distance": "2.4" } , { "id": "3", "name": "Festival Theatre Edinburgh", "lat": "55.9467", "lng": "-3.1863", "url": "/festival-theatre", "distance": "1.9" } , { "id": "1", "name": "Kings Theatre - Edinburgh", "lat": "55.9419", "lng": "-3.2028", "url": "/kings-theatre", "distance": "2.6" } , { "id": "699", "name": "Summerhall", "lat": "55.94", "lng": "-3.18229", "url": "/summerhall", "distance": "2.2" } , { "id": "769", "name": "Hopetoun House", "lat": "55.99426", "lng": "-3.46808", "url": "/hopetoun-house", "distance": "12.1" } , { "id": "815", "name": "The Pleasance", "lat": "55.94745", "lng": "-3.18189", "url": "/the-pleasance", "distance": "1.8" } , { "id": "834", "name": "Royal Highland Centre Edinburgh", "lat": "55.9411253", "lng": "-3.3689583", "url": "/royal-highland-centre-edinburgh", "distance": "8.4" } , { "id": "977", "name": "Assembly Rooms", "lat": "55.9528298", "lng": "-3.1986754", "url": "/assembly-rooms", "distance": "1.9" } , { "id": "1004", "name": "Edinburgh International Conference Centre", "lat": "55.9460628", "lng": "-3.2097466", "url": "/edinburgh-international-conference-centre", "distance": "2.6" } ]


















Richard Kent

Mar 2015

This was a comfortable digs but I wouldn't say it was exactly as advertised.

In the profile it says that the walk to the Playhouse theatre is 15 minutes. I have long legs and don't hang about and it would take me just over 20 minutes and from the digs to the theatre it is uphill all the way so can... read more feel like a bit of a trek.

The room itself is a good size but the lack of a blackout blind (as was included in the profile) did mean early morning sun which may or may not bother others. What did wake me up though was the noise from traffic and passers-by outside the bedroom window. It is single glazed and the road does get noticeably busy in the morning.

HOST'S RESPONSE:

In response to this review I have made amendments to my digs. I have since bought a black out blind. I have changed the walking distance to the Playhouse Theatre to 40 minutes and I am looking into double glazing for the back windows. This has been the only complaint and have had many guests who have enjoyed their stay.

Cleanliness:

Friendliness:

Accuracy:

Location:

Value:

Communication:

NOTE: Theatre Digs Booker does not vet accommodation listed on the site. We rely heavily on the information provided by Hosts and the feedback given by Guests.

Please see any Guest reviews or the Host Profile for more information.

Read more

Proudly working with these wonderful organisations.
Equity
Spotlight
Musician's Union
UK Theatre
ITC
The Actor's Guild
SMA
Mandy.com
ISM
Just a few of the great places where we've been featured.
The Telegraph
The Sunday Times
The Stage
Channel 5
Money Saving Expert
Choice Magazine